Here I Am

If you weren’t able to make it to the Missions Conference this week, you missed a blessing and a challenge. We had the privilege this week of having 5 missionary families with us that have an amazing passion for sharing the love of Christ with the people of Turkey, Peru, Greece, East Asia and Mexico. It gave me goose bumps to hear Kat Compton talk about being homesick for Peru and her & Elmo’s desire to get to Lima to share Jesus Christ with the 9 million people who live there. It made me glad to be a part of Bible Baptist Church when I heard Cristina & James Sinde talk about how welcome they felt.

As I thought about these missionary families, I thought about each of you and even as I write this, I’ve got those goose bumps again because I know each of you has that same passion for sharing Jesus with people that these missionaries have. Our mission field might is Mexico, Peru, East Asia, Greece, Turkey, DeQuincy and so many other places. As we invite people we know to church, we are carrying out the Great Commission. As we make our commitment to Faith Promise for the next year, we are expanding the field we are reaching. As we commit to give to missions we are a part of the work that the Lillys, Comptons, Williams, Sindes, Mortons and many others, we are their mission partner. We don’t have to get on a plane, a boat, a train, a hot air balloon, a blimp or other wacky form of transportation and go to some far off corner of the Earth to be faithful to God’s command to go and preach the Gospel to the uttermost parts of the world.

We should pray daily for our missionaries, for the people they are trying to reach and for ourselves, that we will be faithful to give and encourage these families. In the coming weeks, I’m hoping to use this space once a week or so to spotlight a missionary family and hope you will take the time not only to pray for them but also to send them a note or email that will encourage them. My prayer is that missions will become an important part of who we are and our relationship with Christ. That we will have a passion for sharing the Gospel throughout the world. That missions won’t just be something we talk about but something we are engaged in. That when the call to help with missions goes our, we will respond, Here I am God, use me.

“But you will receive power when the Holy Spirit comes upon you. And you will be my witnesses, telling people about me everywhere—in Jerusalem, throughout Judea, in Samaria, and to the ends of the earth.” Acts 1:8 NLT

Leave a Reply

